What The Symposium Is About

The Symposium

Richard C. Staab, DO

Preserving Our Future

It is the exception, and not the rule, for one physician’s name to be spoken across the country with the same amount of recognition and reverence. Dr. Richard C. Staab was that physician.

The OSU Internal Medicine program prepares residents who continue to be touched by his legacy; and it is our mission to change the exception into the rule. Every year, this training program graduates approximately ten internal medicine physicians who go on to carry his legacy either into practice or on to fellowship.

We, as their trainers, are committed to each one of these residents and see their potential to change the landscape of osteopathic medicine as Dr. Staab did during his time. Our commitment comes from a place that has been entrenched into our practice and we continue to put forward efforts, such as this symposium, to ensure this legacy is not lost.

Richard C. Staab, DO Internal Medicine Graduate Fund

The fund was initiated for the purpose of supporting the ongoing educational needs of the residents in the Internal Medicine Department at OSU Medical Center. It’s through funding such as this, that we are able to maintain the academic integrity of the physicians that OSU Medical Center continually places into the community. In addition, this memorial fund will also pay tribute to Dr. Staab, a prominent oncologist who had ties to Tulsa and understood the mission of training young osteopathic physicians.

To donate towards the Richard C. Staab, DO Internal Medicine Graduate Fund, please click HERE.

Richard C. Staab, DO Legacy Award

Each year a physician is recognized for his/her exemplary contribution to the osteopathic profession, particularly in the areas of education and leadership.

2021 Richard C. Staab, DO Legacy Award Honoree, Damon L. Baker, DO, FACOI

Past Legacy Award Recipients

2021 - Damon L. Baker, DO, FACOI
2019 - Kenneth E. Calabrese, DO, MACOI
2018 - James S. Seebass, DO, FACOI
2017 - Thomas J. Stees, DO, FACOI
2016 - Steven C. Buck, DO, FACOI
2015 - W. W. Stoever, DO, MACOI
2014 - David F. Hitzeman, DO, MACOI